From Cardiac Systems Biology Lab

News: 2012

Archived News. Current news is on Twitter at [[].


October 2016:
Nice article on Angela and Ani's Double Hoo Award

September 2016:
Congratulations to Angela Zeigler and Bryan Chun, who were both awarded NIH F30 Individual Predoctoral MD/PhD Fellowships!

May 2016:
Congratulations on Angela Zeigler, who has received an AHA predoctoral fellowship! Angela also recently published her paper "A computational model of cardiac fibroblast signaling predicts context-dependent drivers of myofibroblast differentiation." in the Journal of Molecular and Cellular Cardiology (link)

April 2016:
Congrats to Ani Chandrabhatla and Angela Zeigler for winning a Double Hoo research award! They are working together to perform virtual drug screens for cardiac fibrosis. (link)

January 2016:
Congratulations and farewell to Will Richardson, who is starting his new lab at Clemson!

Article including our high-content imaging in GEN: link


April 2015:
Congratulations to Matt Sutcliffe and Philip Tan, who together won a Double Hoo Research Grant!

March 2015:
Great showing at the Huskey Research Exhibition! Laura, Philip, Eric and Angela all presented their work. Philip won 3rd place oral presentation in 'Bugs and Biotech', and Laura won the 1st place poster in 'Biological and Biomedical Science'! Laura was also a finalist at the UVA Engineering Research Symposium.

Monika Grabowska wins the Grand Award at the Piedmont Regional Science Fair and interviewed on NBC 29! Next, she'll be off to the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair. link

January 2015:
Congratulations to Angela Zeigler, who successfully passed her PhD qualifying exam!


September 2014:
Congratulations to Eric Greenwald, who won the U. Virginia 3 Minute Thesis People's Choice Award! His presentation was entitled, "Scaffold proteins: (un)leashing efficient communciation".

June 2014:
Dr. Saucerman is elected as a Fellow of the American Heart Association!

May 2014:
Dr. Saucerman and Dr. Zhen Yan win the 2014 Thelma R. Swortzel Collaborative Research Award to support "MitoTimer reporter in human fibroblasts for diagnosis of mitochondrial diseases".

Eric Greenwald wins the first Wagner Fellowship from the UVa School of Medicine!

Congratulations to Philip Tan, who was awarded a postion on the Cellular and Molecular Biology Training Grant! Congratulations to Angela Zeigler and Laura Woo, who were both awarded positions on the Cardiovascular Biology Training Grant!

Congratulations to Will Richardson who won an American Heart Association Postdoctoral Fellowship!

Congratulations to Dr. Karen Ryall, who successfully defended her PhD thesis!

Congratulations to Feilun Wu, Jonathan Gaillard, Riley North, Tristan Jones, and Pranav Aurora on their graduation! Feilun will be attending grad school at Duke U. this Fall, Jonathan will be attending med school at George Washington U. Riley, Tristan and Pranav have obtained gap-year research or industry positions before heading to med school.

March 2014:
Congrats to Philip Tan on receiving an NSF Honorable Mention!

Monika Grabowska won a pile of awards for her high school science project! At the Piedmont Regional Science Fair: First Place in Biochemistry, Certificate of Outstanding Achievement for Ability and Creativity in In Vitro Biology, sponsored by The Society for In Vitro Biology, Award for Open Science, sponsored by the Center for Open Science Award for an Outstanding Science Project in Biochemistry, sponsored by the Virginia Dental Association. At the Virginia State Science Fair: 1st Place in Biochemistry. Congratulations!


December 2013:
Congratulations to Dr. Robert Amanfu, who successfully defended his PhD thesis!

April 2013:
Pranav Aurora is awarded summer research funding from the nanoSTAR institute!

Karen Ryall is a finalist in the UVa Presidential Poster Competition!

Tristan Jones is named a UVa Beckman Scholar! Read the press release here.

Jason Yang wins the 2012 Robert M. Berne Outstanding Predoctoral Trainee Award!

Congratulations to Bill Boyd, will attend UVa Medical School next year.

February 2013:
Pranav Aurora and Tristan Jones win a UVa Harrison Undergraduate Research Award!

Congratulations to Karen Ryall on her successful PhD proposal!


December 2012:
Press release and news articles about Karen and David's hypertrophy network model: UVa Press Release, FierceHealthIT, Radio interview WINA.

October 2012:
Karen Ryall and David Holland's paper "Network reconstruction and systems analysis of cardiac myocyte hypertrophy signaling" accepted in the Journal of Biological Chemistry.

September 2012:
Dr. Saucerman wins the School of Medicine's Dean's Excellence in Teaching Award!

August 2012:
Eric Greenwald wins a Biomedical Engineering Society Graduate Student Design and Research Award!

June 2012:
Jason Yang wins 2nd place in the poster competition at the Cardiac Regulatory Mechanisms Gordon Conference!

Karen Ryall is a winner of the ISHR International Poster Competition at the North American International Society for Heart Research Meeting in Banff, Canada!

April 2012:
Jason Yang successfully defends his PhD thesis and also wins the BME Outstanding Graduate Student Award and the Jill Hungerford Prize in Biomedical Sciences!

Check out the new Downloads section for models and image analysis codes.

Karen Ryall's paper "Automated imaging reveals a concentration-dependent delay in reversal of cardiac myocyte hypertrophy" is accepted in the Journal of Molecular and Cellular Cardiology.

March 2012:
Former undergraduate researcher Wyatt Shields awarded an NSF fellowship! Wyatt is now a graduate student at Duke.

Congratulations to Jason Yang and Robert Amanfu for their awards at the UVa Huskey Research Exhibition. Jason won a 2nd place oral presentation in Biological and Biomedical Sciences and Robert won a 3rd place in the poster competition.

Anita Grabowska wins 3rd place at the Virginia Piedmont Regional Science Fair in the "Engineering - Materials and Bioengineering" category.

Congratulations to former undergraduate researcher Sa Ra Park for acceptance to UVa Med School!

Jan 2012:
Congratulations to Lindsay McLellan for acceptance to UVa Med School!

Jason Yang's paper "Phospholemman is a negative feed-forward regulator of Ca2+ in beta-adrenergic signaling, accelerating beta-adrenergic inotropy" accepted in J Mol Cell Cardiol.

Retrieved from
Page last modified on January 14, 2018, at 09:19 AM EST